What are national safety standards?

According to Regulation on European standardisation (EU) 1025/2012, a national standard is a standard that manufacturers can use to comply with national product safety laws and policies. According to Regulation (EU) 2019/515, when a product meets a local standard of an EU Member State, other Member States must accept the product on their markets as well. However, nationals standards must not contradict EN standards.

National Standardisation Bodies

The standardisation system in Europe is based on the national pillars, which are National Standardisation Bodies or CEN members. National standardisation bodies transpose European standards into identical national standards and withdraw conflicting standards. CEN’s National Members are the National Standardisation Bodies of the 28 EU Member States, the Republic of North Macedonia, Serbia and Turkey, and three EEA countries (Iceland, Norway and Switzerland). And, there is one member per country.

List of National Standardisation Bodies:

Azerbaijani Standards (AZS)
Bureau de Normalisation/Bureau voor Normalisatie (NBN)
Bulgarian Institute for Standardization (BDS)
Croatian Standards Institute (HZN)
Cyprus Organization for Standardisation (CYS)
Czech Office for Standards, Metrology and Testing (UNMZ)
Dansk Standard (DS)
Estonian Centre for Standardisation (EVS)
Suomen Standardisoimisliitto r.y. (SFS)
Association Française de Normalisation (AFNOR)
Deutsches Institut für Normung (DIN)
National Quality Infrastructure System (NQIS/ELOT)
Hungarian Standards Institution (MSZT)
Icelandic Standards (IST)
National Standards Authority of Ireland (NSAI)
Ente Nazionale Italiano di Unificazione (UNI)
Latvian Standard Ltd. (LVS)
Lithuanian Standards Board (LST)
Organisme Luxembourgeois de Normalisation (ILNAS)
The Malta Competition and Consumer Affairs Authority (MCCAA)
Nederlands Normalisatie-instituut (NEN)
Standards Norway (SN)
Polish Committee for Standardization (PKN)
Instituto Português da Qualidade (IPQ)
Standardisation Institute of the Republic of North Macedonia (ISRSM)
Romanian Standards Association (ASRO)
Institute for Standardization of Serbia (ISS)
Slovak Office of Standards Metrology and Testing (UNMS SR)
Slovenian Institute for Standardization (SIST)
Asociación Española de Normalización (UNE)
Swedish Institute for Standards (SIS)
Schweizerische Normen-Vereinigung (SNV)
Turkish Standards Institution (TSE)
British Standards Institution (BSI).

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *